Know Your Diamond

It's important to remember that a diamond's value is determined using the 4Cs mentioned below.

Diamond Color Actually Means Lack of Color

  • A chemically pure and structurally perfect diamond has no hue, like a drop of pure water, and consequently, a higher value.

  • GIA's D-to-Z diamond color-grading system measures the degree of colorlessness by comparing a stone under controlled lighting and precise viewing conditions to master stones of established color value.

  • GIA's diamond D-to-Z color-grading scale is the industry's most widely accepted grading system.

  • Many of these color distinctions are so subtle that they are invisible to the untrained eye; however, these distinctions make a very big difference in diamond quality and price.

  • Yellow or brown color diamonds having color more intense than "Z", as well as diamonds exhibiting color other than yellow or brown are considered fancy colored diamonds.

Diamond Clarity Refers to the Absence of Inclusions and Blemishes

FL - Flawless
Free from all inclusions or blemishes at 10x magnification.
IF - Internally Flawless
No inclusions visible at 10x, insignificant surface blemishes.
VVS1/VVS2/VS1/VS2 - Very Very To Very Slightly Included
Minor inclusions. Dificult to see face-up at 10x.
S11/S12 - Slightly Included
Noticeable inclusions. Easy to see at 10x.
I1/I2/I3 - Inclusions
Obvious inclusions. Easily visible to unaided eyes.

A Diamond's Cut Unleashes Its Light

Shallow Cut
A shallow cut diamond will usually have a larger diameter and so a larger look for each given carat weight, However the more shallow the stone, the more light is lost out of the base and can cause it to look lifeless and transparent.
Ideal Cut
An ideal cut diamond has the correct proportions to reflect all of the light that enters the stone out through the center creating maximum fire and sparkle.
Deep Cut
A deep cut diamond will tend to have a smaller diameter and so a smaller look per carat weight. A very deeply cut diamond will lose light out of the sides of the stone causing the brilliance to be compromised.

Carat Weight Scale

1/4 Carat 1/3 CARAT 1/2 Carat 3/4 CARAT
4.1mm 4.4mm 5.2mm 5.9mm
1 Carat 1 1/4 CARAT 1 1/2 Carat 1 3/4 CARAT
6.5mm 7mm 7.4mm 7.8mm
2 Carat 2 1/2 CARAT 3 Carat 3 1/2 CARAT
8.2mm 8.8mm 9.4mm 9.7mm
     4 Carat